Have you chosen a HR career for the right reasons?

This post now appears on my new blog site ‘Open Brackets’ – please see link below.

http://www.openbrackets.net.au/blog/2012/04/22/reasons-for-choosing-a-career-as-a-hr-business-partner-which-just-might-end-in-tears

 

 

About Michael Sleap

Interested in all things related to HR, leadership and sport.
This entry was posted in Human Resources and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Have you chosen a HR career for the right reasons?

  1. rmlaw713 says:

    Very insightful! As an HR Business Partner I think you nailed it. The HR profession has grown significantly, and being a “people person” isn’t enough anymore. You have to understand the business to impact business results.

  2. I greatly enjoyed this article that dispelled the myths about what HR professionals do. I’ve taken several HR certification courses and have been an active job seeker to become familiarised with recruitment procedures, and I’ve come to the conclusion that HR department is critical to public relations and marketing. http://jobandthecity.wordpress.com/2012/05/02/hr-is-your-most-important-department-heres-why/

  3. Across Life says:

    I agree with most of the article, however, the myth that an interest in HR is not enough… that doesn’t ring true. I waited 8 years to get my HR job. I had an interest in it and did the courses but people kept saying that I didn’t have any experience so never considered me. Finally someone took a chance on me and gave me a HR business partner role. I absolutely loved my job, loved coming in everyday, and, because of that, I learned really fast. The 8 years I had spent as Exec Asst supporting senior executives really prepared me for the job. 3 years later, I got promoted. So, an interest and passion for HR is probably the FIRST and MOST important thing you need when choosing a HR career. You can be trained on everything else.

    • Thanks for your comment and for sharing your own career experience. Well done on making a successful transition into HR! From my perspective you had much more than just an interest. You did further study and clearly had an aptitude and strong desire to succeed which are all really important. My point was that an interest alone is not enough and that it takes those other aspects as well to be able to successfully move into HR. Thanks again for sharing.

      • Cosette says:

        This is really a good article and I agree with what Michael said about having an interest is important but not enough. I was lucky to be able to get into a HR profession without prior HR knowledge, experience and expertise and it was a steep learning curve for me. Hence, to progress faster like Across Life I think one really needs to prep himself/herself well by taking up courses. However, I do know people who didn’t have prior education on HR but is successful today.
        I am still learning on the job and I wonder if a person have to be all rounded (i.e. Being good in HR adminstration, business partner role) to be sucessful in this line?

  4. Pingback: How Good Is Hr As An Career | New Job Today

  5. su pyae says:

    Hi,

    Now i am so interesting about HR.
    So, may i request to tell and share me your precious experiences, knowledge

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

